Award Details


The Distinguished Librarian Award is presented annually by the University of Washington Libraries to a librarian whose contributions advance the mission of the Libraries and the University. The awardee is recognized at the University of Washington Awards of Excellence Ceremony.


University of Washington Librarians (UW Seattle, Bothell, Tacoma, Law Librarians), either full-time or part-time, with permanent, provisional, continuing or non-continuing status are eligible. Librarians with temporary appointments are not eligible. Members of the selection committee are not eligible during their term of service. A librarian may receive the award only once.

Nomination Procedure

Anyone (supervisors, colleagues, faculty, staff, and students) may nominate a librarian for the Distinguished Librarian Award. Nominators should submit a completed nomination form and a letter of nomination (two pages maximum). The Selection Committee asks nominees for their CVs and the names of up to three people who could serve as references. The committee then contacts the references to ask for letters of support. Letters should discuss the nominee's accomplishments and how they contribute to the Libraries and to the University. The Committee makes decisions based solely on the content of the nomination and support letters, and does not review additional materials or websites. After the awards are announced, each nominee will receive a copy of their nomination packet. Individuals nominated are kept in the pool for three years.


      The award recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through innovative approaches to professional practice, research, and/or teaching and learning. Additional factors include creativity, leadership, service, scholarship, and demonstration of the University of Washington values of integrity, diversity, excellence, collaboration, innovation and respect.



        October 2023: Vice Provost and Dean of University Libraries appoints Selection Committee

        November 1-December 29, 2023: Selection Committee issues call for nominations

        December 29, 2023: Deadline for nominations

        January 5, 2024: Deadline for nominees to submit their CVs and names of the references

        January 25, 2024: Deadline for letters

        January 2024: Nomination review

        Winter/Spring 2024: Libraries recognition of all nominees


        Selection Committee

        The selection committee is appointed by the Dean of University Libraries, and is composed of librarians drawn from the three UW campuses and a representative designated by the chair of the Faculty Council on University Libraries. A representative from the Information School may also be appointed. The Dean of the University Libraries designates one member of the committee to serve as its chair which, in practice, is the immediate past winner of the Award. The selection committee issues the call for nominations, reviews the nomination packets, and makes recommendations to the Dean of University Libraries who makes the final decision.

        2023-24 Selection Committee

        Azusa Tanaka, Japanese Studies Librarian, Distinctive Collections (Chair)

        Jackie Belanger, Director, Assessment and Planning (Vice-Chair)

        Electra Enslow, Director, Clinical Research and Data Services, Health Sciences Library

        Johanna Jacobsen-Kiciman, Education and Research Help Librarian, UW Tacoma

        Nia Lam, Research & Instruction Librarian, UW Bothell and Cascadia Library

        Sudhir Mahadevan, Associate Professor Cinema & Media Studies

        Deb Raftus, Romance Languages & Literatures Librarian and Arts & Humanities Liaison Team Leader, Research Services

        Andrew Weaver, Media Preservation Librarian, Preservation Services